Buy Space to Place Ad / Links

Navratri is a Hindu festival that lasts for nine nights which is celebrated every autumn. It is found for a variety of reasons and is celebrated differently in different parts of the Indian cultural realm. Theoretically, there are four seasonal Navratri. However, in practice, it is the post-monsoon autumn festival, called Sharda Navratri, which is mostly celebrated in honor of the divine goddess Durga. The festival usually falls in the Gregorian months of September and October but according to the Hindu calendar, it’s celebrated in the bright half of the month of Ashwin. 

Durga Puja

Durga Puja

In the eastern and northeastern states of India, Navratri is celebrated as Durga puja or we can say Durga puja is synonyms of Navratri for them. In which Goddess Durga will fight and conquer the buffalo demon to help restore the religion. After the 9 days of Navratri, the 10th day is celebrated as Dussehra which celebrates Lord Rama‘s battle and victory over the demon king Ravana. It’s also called Vijayadashmi.

Navratri – Dedicated to the nine incarnations of Goddess Durga where each day has a different significance. These nine days are dedicated to Goddess Durga and her nine incarnations – called Navdurga.

Each day is associated with the incarnation of the goddess. 


Shailaputri is the wife of lord shiva and daughter of Himalaya, where Shail is another name of Himalaya so her name is Shailputri. It is in this form that the worship of the Goddess takes place as an instrument of Shiva. She is riding on Nandi, a Trishul in her right hand and a lotus on her left. On the First Day of the Navratri, Shailaputri is worshipped 


Brahma is considered to be unbroken and eternal, never-ending. The second incarnation of Parvati is worshiped as Brahmacharini. Brahmacharini is worshiped for liberation or salvation and wealth of peace and prosperity. Walking barefoot and holding a japamala and a kamandal in his hand, she is a symbol of joy and peace. Brahmacharini is worshipped on the second day of the Navratri.


The Chandraghanta name comes from the fact that after marrying Shiva, Parvati adorned her forehead with an Ardhachandra. She is the embodiment of beauty and is also a symbol of bravery. Chandraghanta is worshipped on the third day of the Navratri.


Kushmanda is Considered as the creative power of the universe. Kushmanda is associated with the wealth of plants on earth, and therefore, the color of the day is green. On the Fourth Day of the Navratri, Kushmanda is worshipped 


She is the mother of Skanda or Kartikeya, so she is called Skandamata. Skandamata is worshipped on the fifth day of the Navratri. She is seen riding on a ferocious lion, holding four arms, and holding her baby. 


Katyayani is worshipped on the sixth day of the Navratri. She was born to sage Katyayana so is known as Katyayani, which is known as the warrior goddess, and she is considered one of the most violent forms of Devi.


Goddess Durga is considered to be the most ferocious form as Kalaratri. She is worshipped on the seventh day of the Navratri. It is believed that to kill the demons Sumbha and Nisumbha, Parvati removed her fair skin. 


Mahagauri is a symbol of wisdom and peace and she is worshipped on the eighth day of the Navratri.


She is sitting on a lotus, it is believed that she bestows all kinds of Siddhis and is also known as Shri Lakshmi Devi. as it’s the last day of Navratri it’s also called Navami.

    Posted in : Festival

  Speak Your Mind

    Tell us what you're thinking...